Giving weblogger.el a try

Posted: November 28, 2006 in Emacs

Because I’m a bit disappointed from KBlogger, I’m currently trying out weblogger.el. The configs were easily created by the weblogger-setup-weblog function.

The interface when writing a blog entry is nice and borrowed from Gnus’ message mode. But there are far too much items in the menu, and most of them are about newsgroups/mail and don’t fit here (But that’s on the TODO list).

One thing I’m missing is that I cannot set the category of my blog entry, so I’ll always have to do it manually in the web interface, but I see, categories are on the TODO list, too.

What’s a bit daunting is that the last CVS commit was nearly 9 month ago and even the project’s homepage http://elisp.info/package/weblogger/ is not available anymore. I hope this project isn’t dead!

What blogging software do you use? (Emacs preferred but at least it has to run with GNU/Linux)

UPDATE: Another nice feature is that you can fetch all entries from the server and update them. The problem with it: The entry does not change on the server.

Comments
  1. @Tassilo:

    What blogging software do you use?

    I have stand-alone blog, running wordpress. I write posts with Emacs Muse, and yank resulting html code into web-interface.

    I cannot find any better solutions for Linux, except Performancing for firefox, but I don’t like it.

    I don’t try weblogger yet.
    It seems to me project is not mantained at all.

  2. Tassilo Horn says:

    I cannot find any better solutions for Linux, except Performancing for firefox, but I don’t like it.

    I wonder why there are no good blogging apps for linux. The MetaWeblog-API is pretty straightforward, so it should be no problem. Maybe I write one myself if I find some time…

    The firefox extension looks not that bad, unfurtunately I normally use konqueror.

    I don’t try weblogger yet. It seems to me project is not mantained at all.

    Yeah, it seems so. Too bad. RIP.

  3. leo says:

    I use muse with pyblosom.

    There are org-blog and org-blogging but I haven’t tried them myself.

    org mode:
    http://staff.science.uva.nl/~dominik/Tools/org/

  4. Tassilo Horn says:

    There are org-blog and org-blogging but I haven’t tried them myself.

    I really should have a look at org-mode…

    Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

