Improving avy-goto-char-timer

Posted: September 17, 2015 in Emacs
Tags: ,

Until recently, the avy command avy-goto-char-timer read one char or two chars if the latter was typed within avy-timeout-seconds.  This command is the one I use most frequently of all avy commands (you can say, it’s basically the only one I use except for avy-goto-line), so I’ve improved it with this commit and this pull request which I guess will be accepted anytime soon.

What these two commits implement:

  1. Now avy-goto-char-timer may read one or as many chars as you want given that the respective next char is typed within avy-timeout-seconds.
  2. DEL deletes the last character from the input, so that you can fix typos easily without having to abort and invoke avy-goto-char-timer once again.
  3. RET immediately stops reading more chars without waiting for another avy-timeout-seconds.
  4. Most importantly: the matches of the current input chars are immediately highlighted to give you direct visual feedback.

Here’s a screencast of the new behavior.

avy-5

BTW, thanks a lot for camcorder.el, Artur!

UPDATE: The PR has already been merged, so you can now use this feature by updating your avy copy from MELPA.

Comments
  1. smith says:

    Hey, despite the fact that I’m not an emacs user, I’d love to know what font you’re using!
    TIA!

    • tsdh says:

      I think that’s DejaVu Sans Mono in the screencast. But today I’m using Pragmata Pro which is totally awesome.

      • smith says:

        Thank you so very much for answering that quick. I’ll check Pragmata as well! So far Input has been the best one for me but I got in love with the font in the screencast (:

      • smith says:

        UPDATE: I tested PragmataPro and it is extraordinary!

  2. هيئة المهندسين التجمعيين – corps des ingenieurs du parti du RNI

    corps des ingenieurs du parti du RNI

Leave a comment